Interschools Competition

The 2016 Spur High Schools Mountain Bike League National Final reached an all time high with 438 mountain bike riders representing 84 schools, all chasing points and the coveted title of Spur Schools Mountain Bike League champion, racing was fierce in hot and trying conditions.

Reigning Gauteng League champions, Menlo Park pulled out all the stops to win the boys’ (118 points) and mixed team (121 points) trophies and walked of the coveted title of National Spur Schools Mountain Bike League Champions.  The girls’ team from Potchefstroom Gimnasium were crowned national girls champions (72 points) with Menlo Park High School taking second place (66 points) and Midstream College claiming third (59 points).

Only one point separated the second and third boys’ teams with Grey College second with 100 points and Paul Roos Gimnasium third 99 points. ParelVallei High School earned 100 points securing second place in the mixed team category with Transvalia in third place with 94 points.

Setting the pace for a high speed racing day, the sub junior boys Miguel Mouthino (Midstream), Travis Stedman (Thomas More College) and WG van der Walt (Montana) broke away from the pack early in the race and the chase was on for the top spot.


How it works: school teams that win their age category at the Spur Schools Mountain Bike League National Final, held in October each year, will receive a R10 000 contribution from Spur to spend at their discretion. The prize is open to both the boys’ and girls’ races across all age categories. The generous bonus is designed to foster healthy competition and promote teamwork between riders and within schools as well as increase participation in the League across all skill levels and abilities. It is Spur’s wish that the bonus be spent on the educational needs of the school and its pupils, and not necessarily its cycling programs, but Spur will not be prescriptive with where a school chooses to use the cash.

This year’s age category winners were presented with a R10 000 cheque for their school.

Sub Junior Boys – HS Montana, Western Cape

Sub Junior Girls – Wartburg Kirchdorf School, Kwazulu Natal

Youth Men A (15) – Paul Roos Gymasium, Western Cape

Youth Women A (15) – Rob Ferreira, Mpumalanga

Youth Men B (16) – Menlowpark HS, Gauteng

Youth Women B (16) – Thomas More College, Kwazulu Natal

Junior Men – Menlopark HS, Gauteng

Junior Women – Potchefstroom Gimnasium, North West